top of page
  • coyotemagic

MCLA Announces New Atlantic Lacrosse Conference

On Friday, the Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) announced plans to introduce a new conference in 2021 called the Atlantic Lacrosse Conference (ALC), which will consist of 8 Division I teams, all formerly of the SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference (SELC). Teams will be divided into 2 divisions, the north division will consist of George Washington, Liberty, Virginia Tech, and West Virginia, while teams competing in the south division will be Clemson, East Carolina, NC State, and Tennessee. A conference tournament featuring the top 3 teams from each division will determine the (expected) automatic qualifier to the 2021 MCLA National Championships presented by New Balance. The ALC Board of Directors will consist of President, Kyle McQuillan (Liberty), Vice President and Secretary, Panchito Ojeda (Virginia Tech), Treasurer, Christopher Demarest (NC State), Competition Coordinator, Jim Mills (West Virginia), and Awards Chairman, Buff Grubb (Clemson). The conference may add Division II as early as 2021, although there is no movement in that direction at this time. The SELC has become one of the premier conferences in MCLA lacrosse, thanks in part to the excelled growth on the youth and high school level that we have enjoyed in the southeast recently. This announcement is a clear indication that the growth rates in the Deep South are expected to continue, and will be looked upon to sustain 2 premier conferences in the MCLA going into the future.

Clemson will be 1 of 8 teams leaving the SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference in 2021 for the new Atlantic Lacrosse Conference (Photo Credit:

Article written by Larry Palumbo, published on Monday, 6/1/2020 at 11:00 EST All rights reserved copyright 2020 by Deep South Lax Report

75 views0 comments


bottom of page